The TAEKWONDO HALL OF FAME ® created in 1999 is the international organization comprised of technical
advisors who are themselves members of the World Taekwondo Federation (WTF), International
Taekwon-Do Federation (ITF), and other major Taekwondo entities. The technical advisors, many who are
themselves world champions, coaches,and leaders are responsible for identifying, recognizing and honoring
persons and groups who have significantly contributed to the development, growth, and advancement of
Tae Kwon Do as a martial art and global sport.

TAEKWONDO HALL OF FAME ® headquarters is located in New Jersey, USA with technical advisory
staff located in Korea, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Afghanistan, Russia, Ireland, India, and several other

Many are claiming to be national and world champions and masters. After many years of research, and
for the first time in history, a true record of the legitimate Tae Kwon Do masters and champions is being
presented.  Furthermore, the TAEKWONDO HALL OF FAME ® which is recognized worldwide is the only
organization that has received official registered trademark status. Reg No. 314787

In addition to identifying legitimate masters and champions, the TAEKWONDO HALL OF FAME ® attempts
to preserve and present a true and complete account of the accomplishments of  others, whose contributions
to our martial art have been unintentional (or intentinally) excluded, or merely forgotten over the years due to
the passage of time.

Kim Pyung Soo, a 10th Degree Black Belt and founder of the Chayon Ryu style who has been featured in
Taekwondo Times magazine and Black Belt magazine is the Senior Technical advisor in the United States.
He is recognized world-wide and was Black Belt Magazine's sole Korea correspondent from 1964 to 1968.
As a result Kim Pyung Soo was inducted into the Taekwondo Hall of Fame and received the
"Journalist-Historian of the Year" award.

According to the TAEKWONDO HALL OF FAME ® , "Taekwondo is an art which can be practiced by nearly
everyone, designed to improve the human being on various levels".

Tae Kwon Do Grand Master Dong Keun Park who was the only undefeated Korea National Champion for
6 years in the early 60's was one of the first persons inducted into the Taekwondo Hall of Fame. He currently
teaches in Jersey City, New Jersey and recently released a book on the subject.

2004 Olympic silver medalist Nia Abdallah of Houston Texas was the first actively competing female to be
inducted into the Taekwondo Hall of Fame.

Allen Steen, Skipper Mullins, and Mitchell Bobrow were inducted to represent the period of the 60's.

Mike Warren, Joseph Hayes, Albert Cheeks, Fred Absher and members of the team that competed at the
1st World Taekwondo Championships held in Korea in 1973 were inducted to represent the period of the 70's.

Several of the most prominent figures in history of Tae Kwon Do were also inducted including Great Grandmaster
Nam Tae Hi, GM Kim Bok Man, GM Rhee Ki Ha, GM Chang Keun Choi, GM Cho Sang Min, GM Young II
Kong, Young Bo Kong and the "Pioneer of American Tae Kwon Do" GM Jhoon Goo Rhee.

Other inductees included GM Dr. Andy Mencia, Master Alejandro Chacon Zambada, Master Mounir Ghrwari,
Master William Sullivan, Master Ray Nikiel, Master Dawn Lefebvre, Master John Holloway, GM Chuck Stepan,
Master Joe Corley, Sarah Chung, Darryl Henegan, Arlene Limas, US Army Sgt Louis Davis, Laxman Basnet,
Master Ramiro Guzman of Mexico, and Master Benny Rivera. Master Benny Rivera's students were also
awarded "Puerto Rico Team of the Year". M-Team of California gave a spectacular demonstration earning them
the "Demonstration Team of the Year" award.

Other nominees for induction included Henk Meijer (Netherlands), Amr Khairy (Egypt), Tuncay Levent and Pinar
Budak (Germany), Brigette Yague (Spain, Donal O’Donoghue (Ireland), Wong Liang Ming (Singapore), and
Javier Dacak (Paraguay)


Comments or Suggestions