## **Taekwondo Hall of Fame**

# South African Taekwondo History compiled by Lenord e. Le Hanie 7<sup>th</sup> February 2009

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

#### **Established ITF-Taekwon-Do April 1977:**

South Africa, Vanderbiljpark – President: Mr. Andrew M. Faul, 3<sup>rd</sup> Dan, 22 May 1978 (deceased 1984)

### South Africa Taekwondo Association (SATA) 1977:

President: Mr. Andrew M. Faul—Founder (previous style Karate) 1978: ITF Genl Choi Hong Hi and GM Rhee Ki Ha visited SA

# 1978, Sept 9-10 ITF World Taekwon-Do Championships, Oklahoma City (USA): Lynette Els – Gold (Invisible Fighting) & Disqualified for drawing blood (>57kg) Evanthia Philippou – Gold (<57kg, Female)

Successor - President: Mr. James Brooks: 1981-1992

1981 SATA Members / SA Taekwon-Do Practitioners: Estimate between 250-300 students 1981 Black Belts: Estimate between 12-18 persons in total (some were never awarded, neither registered for their 1<sup>st</sup> Dan's and some not for their 2<sup>nd</sup> Dan's at the ITF, especially by default of Mr. James Brooks!)

SA-ITF: 1992-current

Former President Fanus Oliver; 4<sup>th</sup> Dan Successor: Gerald Mackell; 4<sup>th</sup> Dan Successor: Dirk Nel; 5<sup>th</sup> Dan – current

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

#### **Established WTF-Taekwondo June 1983:**

South Africa, Pretoria - Master Yong Tae Chung, 7<sup>th</sup> Dan WTF (Military Attaché from Korea)

### South African Taekwondo Federation (SATF) 1983:

President: Master Yong Tae Chung, 7<sup>th</sup> Dan WTF

Successor President: Mr. Godfrey Mokoboto 1992-2009

### <u>Major/Key Role-Players in the Development and Expansion of Olympic Taekwondo in</u> South Africa:



**Grandmaster Eun Woo Lee** (9<sup>th</sup> Dan, WTF) Highest ranked person on the entire African continent. Former member of the SATF Executive Committee

Mr. Kyong Tae Min (5<sup>th</sup> Dan, WTF): National Coach 1992-1999

Mr. K.I. Min (4<sup>th</sup> Dan, WTF): SATF Vice-President 1992-1999

Mr. Johan Nel (6<sup>th</sup> Dan, Taekwondo International; 4<sup>th</sup> Dan, WTF): SATF Secretary General 1992-1999

Mr. Lenord e. Le Hanie (6<sup>th</sup> Dan, Taekwondo International; 4<sup>th</sup> Dan, WTF): SATF Executive Committee Member - Media/National Coach/Secretary General/Senior Technical Advisor/Senior Instructor 1994-2004

\*\* Mr. Hyung Cho (6<sup>th</sup> Dan, WTF): SATF National Coach 1999-2009

[\*\* Only active members of the South African Taekwondo Federation]

# **SATF Champions**

SA National Champion & Best Female Athlete: Both WTF & ITF-stylist: **Mia Emmett**Student of Grandmaster Eun Woo Lee

Gold Medalist – All Africa Games 1999, Johannesburg

SA National Champion & Best Male Athlete: Both WTF & ITF-stylist: **Johan Smit** Silver Medalist – All Africa Games 2003, Nigeria

Longest-Reigned SA National Champion: **Johan Smit** 1995-2006 (Winner of most medals and trophies in SA)

Olympic Pre-selection Athlete: **Johan Smit** 1999 for 2000 Sydney Olympics

Voted by National Team Members as Best & Most Popular SA Athlete: **Johan Smit** (Participated: 1<sup>st</sup> Jnr World Championships 1996; x2 All African Games; Best Korean Ambassadors Cup Athlete 2001 etc.)

SA National Champion & Only SA Taekwondo 2004 Olympian Athlete: **Duncan Mahlangu** (did not perform well during the 2004 Olympics)

SA National Champion & Withdrawn SA Taekwondo 2000 Olympic Athlete: **Donald Ravenscroft** (due to injury, over-rated Heavyweight athlete)

SA National Champion & Recent Best Talented Female Athlete: **Anel Steyn** 

Administrator in the Development of Taekwondo-athletes and Taekwondo in general (including the national-and-local media); on national home-soil, from Cape Town to Musina, in the Southern Africa region: Lesotho, and Zimbabwe. Produced several Black Belts. Organized several national events as well as a few International events hosted by SATF